About Houston High » Houston High Faculty and Staff

Houston High Faculty and Staff

Taylor, John
Principal
 
Mr. John Taylor began his career in education in 1992 as a History teacher at East High School. While at East, he coached football and baseball. After teaching at East for three years, he accepted a history teaching position at Houston, teaching both standard and AP classes. While at Houston he has coached football, wrestling, and softball. Mr. Taylor has been an Assistant Principal since 2004 and began his tenure as principal in 2018.
 
Mr. Taylor’s educational background includes a Bachelors of History from Rhodes College and a Masters of Education in Educational Leadership from Trevecca Nazarene University. He is married to Marje, a Special Education Teacher for Bartlett City Schools and has two children, Matthew (Class of 2015) and Charlotte (Class of 2018).
 William Gillespie
Gillespie, William
Vice Principal 
 
Mr. Gillespie is no stranger to HHS or its teachers. With over 25 years of experience in high school education, he brings expertise in instructional leadership, testing coordination, and curriculum supervision to the HHS administration team.
 
Mr. Gillespie attended the University of Tennessee, Knoxville and earned his B.A. in English Literature before completing his M.S. in Curriculum and Instruction in 1996. He additionally holds an EdS in Educational Administration from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville.
 
Blackburn, Shannon
Assistant Principal- 9th Grade, Attendance, Testing
 
Ms. Blackburn serves as an assistant principal with a focus on assisting teachers' development of instruction and organizational expertise which she fine-tuned in Kentucky’s Fayette County Schools as a school administrator.  She brings a wealth of leadership experience and a Masters degree in Curriculum and Instruction from the University of Missouri.  
 
Ms. Blackburn comes with over 15 years of experience in education and has served in various leadership roles, including District-level Instructional Coach, Assistant Principal, and most recently, Principal of Ashland Elementary School in Lexington.  In her many roles, Ms. Blackburn is foremost an instructional leader, well-versed in collecting, analyzing, and interpreting data to meet the needs of all students as well as identifying interventions to support their individualized learning.
 
Ross, Paul
Assistant Principal- 11th Grade Discipline, parking/traffic, textbooks
 
Mr. Ross joined Houston High School as an Assistant Principal after serving as the Principal of North Pontotoc Middle School in Mississippi. Prior to serving as Principal, Mr. Ross served 3 years as an Assistant Principal at Oxford High School and 9 years as a history teacher at White Station High School. Mr. Ross completed his undergraduate studies at the University of Missouri- St. Louis with a degree in Secondary Education/Political Science and his graduate studies at Trevecca Nazarene University with a degree in Educational Leadership. He and his beautiful wife, Jerica, are the parents to three kids (River, Canyon, Meadow). In his down time, he enjoys the outdoors, great music, good 'Que, and making memories with his 3 children.
 
Suchman, Dr. Thomas
Assistant Principal- 10th/ 12th grade Discipline, 504 Coordinator, buses, and lockers
 

Dr. Suchman left the Kansas City area (Lees Summit, MO) to attend Rhodes College and stayed in Memphis.

Graduating with a teaching license and a degree in English, Dr. Suchman was thrilled to start teaching at HHS early in his career. 

Determined to never stop learning, Suchman completed a masters degree in education at Cumberland University and a doctorate in Educational Leadership and Policy at Vanderbilt University.

When not teaching, Dr. Suchman enjoys reading, growing his record collection, studying cinema, playing with his dogs, swimming and cycling. He is also an avid fan of punk rock and spent years playing, touring, and recording with different bands.

 
Carpenter, Lee Clerical - Attendance Clerk maria.carpenter@gmsdk12.org
Comas, Maria Clerical - Financial Secretary maria.comas@gmsdk12.org
Griffith, Teresa Clerical - SPED Secretary teresa.griffith@gmsdk12.org
Jackson, Tamika Clerical - Visitors, Raptor, Medical tamika.jackson@gmsdk12.org
Lana, Martha Clerical - Guidance, Records martha.lana@gmsdk12.org
McGriff, Elizabeth Clerical - Cash Balances, Transcripts Mcgriff.Elizabeth@gmsdk12.org
Rose, Dee Clerical - Attendance dee.rose@gmsdk12.org
Thompson, Natalie Clerical - Payroll, Substitutes natalie.thompson@gmsdk12.org
     
Becker, Chad Athletic Director chad.becker@gmsdk12.org
Espinoza, Manuel Plant Manager manuel.espinoza@gmsdk12.org
Jones, Earvin Plant Manager earvin.jones@gmsdk12.org
McCarter, Brad ISS Monitor Bradley.McCarter@gmsdk12.org
Spain, Traci SEL traci.spain@gmsdk12.org
Waldrup, Celeste School Nurse celeste.waldrup@gmsdk12.org
     
Manuel, Robert TV Media Engineer robert.manuel@gmsdk12.org
Sweeney, Ryan TV Program Director ryan.sweeney@gmsdk12.org
Enter your text here...
For password resets, general troubleshooting, or technology questions:
Email helpdesk@gmsdk12.org  or call (901)756-2323

Dienye, Joe School Technology Support joe.dienye@gmsdk12.org
Talley, Ellie Instructional Technology Coach danielle.talley@gmsdk12.org
 
Tingle, Lorrie Alternative School Instructor lorrie.tingle@gmsdk12.org
Diroff, Suzy Alt School Assistant  
 
Fisher, Denise Counseling - Intervention denise.fisher@gmsdk12.org Office: 901-756-2370 x 6042
Haddow, Dan Counseling/Instructional/Leadership Support dan.haddow@gmsdk12.org  
Kinney, Brenda Counseling - 12th brenda.kinney@gmsdk12.org Office: 901-756-2370 x 6044
Kreitz, Ashley Counseling - 10th ashley.kreitz@gmsdk12.org Office: 901-756-2370 x 6046
Riggan, Linda Counseling - 11th linda.riggan@gmsdk12.org Office: 901-756-2370 x 6043
Schmitt, Sara Counseling-College/Career sara.schmitt@gmsdk12.org Office: 901-756-2370 x 6019
Skaggs, Emily School Psychologist emily.skaggs@gmsdk12.org  
Wells, Lana Counseling - 9th lana.wells@gmsdk12.org Office: 901-756-2370 x 6045
       
Lana, Martha Guidance Clerical martha.lana@gmsk12.org  
Underwood, Clint david.underwood@gmsdk12.org
Wilder, Ruth ruth.wilder@gmsdk12.org
Enter your text here...
Griffith, Teresa Clerical - SPED Secretary teresa.griffith@gmsdk12.org
     
Browley, Bryan   bryan.browley@gmsdk12.org
Coltharp, Ginny   Virginia.Coltharp@gmsdk12.org
Little, Hillary   Hillary.little@gmsdk12.org
Nannie, David   david.nannie@gmsdk12.org
Sadler, Caroline   Mary.sadler@gmsdk12.org
Sicilia, Christina   Christina.Sicilia@gmsdk12.org
Stephenson, Nancy   Nancy.stephenson@gmsdk12.org
Thomas, Haley   haley.thomas@gmsdk12.org
Wiley, Katrina   Katrina.Wiley@gmsdk12.org
Wright, Bryan   bryan.wright@gmsdk12.org
Anderson, Elizabeth SPED Educational Assistant  
Cole, Andrea SPED Educational Assistant  
Gwyn, Angela SPED Educational Assistant  
Houck, Kim SPED Educational Assistant  
Houston, Kisha SPED Educational Assistant  
Humphrey, Kitten SPED Educational Assistant  
Luckett, Becky SPED Educational Assistant  
Maxwell, Sonya SPED Educational Assistant  
McElhenny, Tiffany SPED Educational Assistant  
McKessey, Melissa SPED Educational Assistant  
Nichols, Sierra SPED Educational Assistant  
Pounders, Robert SPED Educational Assistant  
Saylor, Cody SPED Educational Assistant  
Thompson, Shea SPED Educational Assistant  
Williams, Treville SPED Educational Assistant  
     
     
Watkins, Courtney Transitional Case Manager courtney.watkins@gmsdk12.org
Nobert, O'Malley Work Based Learning/Transition catherine.nobert@gmsdk12.org
Smith, Shelby Workplace Readiness Job Coach shelby.smith@gmsdk12.org
Jessop, Kimberly Part-time Physical Therapist kimberly.jessop@gmsdk12.org
Ferryman, Kristin kristin.ferryman@gmsdk12.org
Johnson, Marilyn Marilyn.johnson@gmsdk12.org
Latvatalo, Piia Piia.latvatalo@gmsdk12.org
Purcell, Erin Erin.purcell@gmsdk12.org
Riley, Katie Brittney.riley@gmsdk12.org
Simone, Abigail Abigail.simone@gmsdk12.org
Stewardson, Betsy Betsy.stewardson@gmsdk12.org
Penrod, Doreen Doreen.penrod@gmsdk12.org
Shelton, Savannah Savannah.Shelton@gmsdk12.org
   
ESL  
Puri, Sunita  sunita.puri@gmsdk12.org
 
Freeman, Amanda RTI Coach amanda.freeman@gmsdk12.org
Gilbert, Kelsey RTI Interventionist- Math Kelsey.gilbert@gmsdk12.org
Chandler, NaToya RTI Interventionist- English natoya.norwood@gmsdk12.org